MacGregor Teacher Awards

Quality teachers are critical to student success. National History Day (NHD) recognizes their outstanding work and dedication to their students.

Dr. James Harris, a longtime NHD Board Member, sponsors the Hannah E. (Liz) MacGregor Teacher of the Year Award in honor of his sister. This award is presented at the NHD National Contest to two winners, one at the junior level and one at the senior level. The winners of the national awards were selected from among the affiliate nominees. Each affiliate was able to nominate one teacher in the junior division and senior division. The national winners each received $5,000. The award will be presented in 2020.

2019 Winners
2018 Winners
2019 Winners

2019 Hannah E. (Liz) MacGregor Teacher of the Year Award

Junior Division
Mrs. Danielle Ozanich
Angell Elementary School
Berkley, Michigan

“Mrs. Ozanich shows a level of commitment to history education and her students that goes well beyond reasonable expectations,” said National History Day Executive Director Dr. Cathy Gorn. “She challenges and inspires her students to conduct thorough research and well-sourced analysis for their projects. She is a shining example for all National History Day teachers.”

Senior Division
Mr. Cosby Hunt
Center for Inspired Teaching
Washington, D.C.

“Mr. Hunt sets high expectations for his students,” said National History Day Executive Director Dr. Cathy Gorn. “He works to ensure his students are equipped with the skills they need to succeed over the course of their academic careers. He is an exceptional National History Day teacher.”

2018 Winners

2018 James Harris Teacher of the Year Award (predecessor to the Hannah E. (Liz) MacGregor Award)

Junior Division
Mr. Jacob Little
Lakeview Junior High School
Downers Grove, Illinois

Senior Division
Dr. Deborah Smith Johnston
Concordia International School
Shanghai, China