NHD Announces the 15 Student-and-Teacher Teams Selected to Pay Tribute to Our WWII Heroes

WASHINGTON, D.C. – National History Day (NHD) announces this week the 15 studentand-teacher teams from 13 states and Guam selected to participate in the 2015 Normandy: Sacrifice for Freedom Albert H. Small Student and Teacher Institute. This program will immerse selected students and teachers from Alabama, Connecticut, Delaware, Guam, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, and Wisconsin in the history of the Normandy Invasion and the service members who gave their lives.

“This is National History Day’s fifth year running the Normandy program,” said NHD Executive Director Dr. Cathy Gorn. “We are very fortunate to be able to provide this life-changing educational opportunity to students. It is only through the generosity of Mr. Albert H. Small that these students are able to take this personal journey. Each student selects a U.S. service member who did not make it home from Normandy and conducts in-depth research on that individual. By the time they travel to France, they have formed a personal connection that allows them to better understand the sacrifices that people made for their country and our personal freedoms.”

Prior to traveling to France, students must complete selected readings, review video interviews with veterans, engage in online discussions with the other participants, and research a local silent hero. As part of this program, students are required to make presentations that bring to life critical moments in the Normandy Campaign. The Institute will culminate in a day of remembrance where, on the eve of Independence Day, students will give a eulogy to an individual soldier, sailor, or marine from their city, county, or state who made the ultimate sacrifice. The following teachers and students have been selected to participate in the 2015 Institute:

Anthony Blas (Gaum)
Erin Coggins (Alabama)
Rachel Couch (Indiana)
Nichole Flynn (Nebraska)
Sarah Henkel (Illinois)
Margaret Holtgreive (Wisconsin)
David Howard (Minnesota)
Kyle Johnson (Kansas)
Whitney Joyner (Tennessee)
Lisa Lauck (Missouri)
Thomas Leighty (Delaware)
Kelly “Simon” Matney (Missouri)
Lisa-Brit Wahlberg (Connecticut)
John Werkmeister (Pennsylvania)
Alan Wheat (Mississippi)

Lazaro Quinata (Gaum)
Erin Stender (Alabama)
Nicole Cordes (Indiana)
Vanessa Taylor (Nebraska)
Lilliana Delao (Illinois)
Julia Brunson (Wisconsin)
Emma Mulhern (Minnesota)
Dawson Podlena (Kansas)
Scott Moore (Tennessee)
Audrey Calovich (Missouri)
Spencer Valenti (Delaware)
Barrett Young (Missouri)
Connor Lisle (Connecticut)
Joshua Slayton (Pennsylvania)
Isaiah McKay (Mississippi)

The Normandy: Sacrifice for Freedom Albert H. Small Student and Teacher Institute is funded by philanthropist and president of Southern Engineering Corporation Albert H. Small.

NHD is a nonprofit education organization in College Park, MD. Established in 1974, NHD offers yearlong academic programs that engage over half a million middle and high school students around the world annually in conducting original research on historical topics of interest. These research-based projects are entered into contests at the local and affiliate levels, where the top student projects have the opportunity to advance to the National Contest at the University of Maryland at College Park. NHD also seeks to improve the quality of history education by providing professional development opportunities and curriculum materials for educators. NHD is sponsored in part by Kenneth E. Behring, Patricia Behring, HISTORY®, Jostens, the National Endowment for the Humanities, the National Park Service, Southwest Airlines, Weider History Group, Inc. and the WEM 2000 Foundation of the Dorsey & Whitney Foundation. For more information about NHD, visit www.nhd.org.

WEBSITE: www.nhd.org
TWITTER: @NationalHistory
FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/nationalhistoryday

Lynne O'Hara
Director of Programs
Phone: 484-919-2595
Press Release